Board of Directors

The Board of Directors plays a critical role in moving the mission of HOPE for Ariang Foundation forward. While the board is not usually involved in the day-to-day activities, it is responsible for managing the organization and must make decisions crucial to the life and direction of the foundation. In carrying out those responsibilities, members of the board must fulfill certain duties to the organization and the public it serves. Those duties are commonly referred to as the duties of care, loyalty and obedience.

(Please click on a Board Member’s name to read their biography)

Gabriel Bol Deng
Founder and Executive Director
, HOPE for Ariang Foundation

Michele Baker
President, HOPE for Ariang Foundation
Social Studies Teacher, Westhill High School

Elizabeth Deng
Vice President, HOPE for Ariang Foundation
English as a Second Language Teacher, Syracuse City School District

Philip S. Bousquet, Esq.
Legal Advisor, Finance Committee, HOPE for Ariang Foundation
Partner, Green & Seifter Attorneys, PLLC

Dr. Cathy Leogrande
Education Committee, HOPE for Ariang Foundation
Chairperson, Education Department, Director,
Graduate Teacher Education Program, Le Moyne College

Dr. Diane Zigo, CSJ
Assistant Professor, Literacy Education,
Education Department, Le Moyne College

Adrienne Graves
Asst. Director of Alumni and Parent Programs
Lemoyne College

Dr. J. Barron Boyd
Emeritus Board President, HOPE for Ariang Foundation
Buckman Program Coordinator, International Studies, Rhodes College

Kate Artessa
Director of Operations, HOPE for Ariang Foundation
(Not a Board Member)